Arizona PBS and Cronkite Receive Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards


Arizona PBS and Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication won a total of 10 Emmys® and Student Production Awards in the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences – in professional categories ranging from arts and entertainment to to politics and government, and student categories ranging from news broadcasts to sports.

Arizona PBS took home three Emmys® that covered a variety of magazine programming, audio productions, and interview content. Awards went to the “Catalyst” and “Plate and Pour” programs. Check out Arizona PBS’s Emmy Prize Programs here.

The 2020 Arizona Senate Debate, one of the most viewed Arizona PBS programs in the station’s history, won first place in the Politics / Government category. During the debate, the moderators – especially Ted Simons from “Arizona Horizon” – received praise for their questions and persistence.

Students at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication received seven Student Production Awards in six categories this year. The awards recognize the best in college journalism, and since 2009, Cronkite students have won 71 Student Production Awards.

Arizona State University also won an award for Branded Content: Short Form with “Innovation at ASU”.

“I am very proud of the performance of Cronkite School and Arizona PBS in the Emmys competition,” said Cronkite School Dean Battinto L. Batts Jr of the cause of journalism. It is a privilege to be able to celebrate your achievements tonight. “

“I couldn’t be more proud of the winners of the Rocky Mountain Emmy Award from the Arizona PBS Team,” said Adrienne Fairwell, general manager of Arizona PBS. “The winners and nominees should be applauded as their work is a real testament to their dedication to the Arizonans. This team worked hard during the 2020 pandemic to produce content that was fun, educational, and informative. We are very proud to be the link between our communities in Arizona. “

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences honors the arts and science of those who work on television with Emmy® Awards, and covers the regions of Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, and Southeast California.

The 44th Annual Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards were held at the Phoenician in Scottsdale. The Arizona PBS and Cronkite School winners are:

Arizona PBS

Technology: content in long form

Catalyst: isotopes, migrants and mysteries

Steve Filmer, producer

Vanessa Ruiz, producer

Politics / government: content in long form

Arizona Senate Debate 2020

Allysa Adams, producer

Ted Simons, host

Lorraine Rivera, host

Yvonne Winget Sanchez, host

Mike Sauceda, producer

Laarni Fernandez Nuez, producer

Shana Fischer, producer

Interview / discussion content

Plate & Pour: Pass it on

Margery Punnett, serial producer

Melissa Thompson, executive producer

Rebecca Guldberg, producer

Mark Tarbell, producer

University of Arizona

Brand content: short form

Innovation at ASU

Joshua Belveal, Director / Writer / Editor / Motion Graphics

Amy Chou, producer

Safwat Saleem, producer / writer

Cronkite School Student Production Awards

News broadcast

Cronkite News March 23, 2021

Angel Jimenez, producer

Multimedia journalist

FilmBar saved

Tyler Manion, reporter

Video essay

A mother’s journey

Franco LaTona, reporter

Non-fiction short form

Gender pioneer in Arizona

Tyler Manion, reporter

Sports history or segment

Seated golfer prepares for US Disabled Open

Jordan Spurgeon, reporter

A sunrise prayer on Piestewa Peak

Sarandon Raboin, reporter

Talent: news or sports

Zachary Keenan, reporter

Source link


Leave A Reply