Hockey Canada announces the line-up of women’s teams for the 2022 Olympics


CALGARY – Marie-Philip Poulin and Rebecca Johnston will represent Canada for the fourth time in their careers in women’s Olympic hockey, having won gold in 2010 and 2014 and silver in 2018.

The two veterans were among 23 women called up Tuesday to join Canada’s squad for the Beijing Winter Games, which opened on February 4.

“To be honest, it’s hard to put those emotions into words when you walk into the opening ceremony and realize you’re there. You did it, ”said Poulin. “ It’s an honor every time to wear this Maple Leaf. ”

Hockey Canada virtually announced three goalkeepers, seven defenders and 13 strikers.

“ The best thing about this group right now is that we’re confident with the work we’ve done so far, but we’re also excited about the work that still needs to be done to be successful in Beijing. ” said head coach Troy Ryan of Spryfield, NS

Thirteen women are returning from the team that lost 3-2 at the 2018 gold medal game in Pyeongchang, South Korea, in the United States.

Canada begins its gold recovery the day before the opening ceremony with a preliminary round match against Switzerland at the National Indoor Stadium in Beijing.

The gold medal game is on February 16.

Twenty-nine players were centralized in Calgary in July to begin Olympic prep. Defender Meaghan Mikkelson and strikers Victoria Bach and Kristin O’Neill were the team’s final cuts.

Defenders Jamie Bourbonnais and strikers Jessie Eldridge and Julia Gosling were released on December 3rd.

Mikkelson, a three-time Olympian and the oldest player in the centralized roster at 37, didn’t play any games until mid-December.

A serious knee injury sustained during a Professional Women’s Hockey Players’ Association game in May required surgery in June and lengthy rehabilitation that Mikkelson limited to just four games.

Defenders Erin Ambrose and Micah Zandee-Hart, who were fired from the 2018 team, were added to the 2022 roster.

Kristin Campbell, Ann-Renee Desbiens and Emerance Maschmeyer are Canada’s goalkeepers.

Ambrose, Zandee-Hart, Ashton Bell, Renata Fast, Jocelyne Larocque, Ella Shelton and Claire Thompson round out the defenders.

Emily Clark, Melodie Daoust, Sarah Fillier, Brianne Jenner, Emma Maltais, Sarah Nurse, Jamie Lee Rattray, Jillian Saulnier, Natalie Spooner, Laura Stacey and Blayre Turnbull join Poulin and Johnston.

The women’s Olympic roster includes 23 players compared to the men’s 25.

Larocque, Jenner, Daoust and Spooner will be competing in third Olympic Games. Fillier, the youngest at 21, is one of the 10 debutants.

Canada defeated the United States 3-2 in extra time on August 31 in their first Women’s World Cup since 2012. That World Cup was relocated to Calgary after Nova Scotia canceled the April tournament.

Canada’s women have played a total of 27 games in the World Cup since July, including games against women from the US and Finland, male Junior A and U17 teams and players from the Professional Women’s Hockey Players’ Association (PWHPA).

However, a nine-game rivalry series against the US was shortened to six games due to COVID-19 cases in the Canadian team, which also delayed the announcement of the Olympic line-up on December 22nd to Tuesday.

Canada’s last game was a 3-2 overtime win over the Americans on December 17 in St. Louis. The last three games in the series, including two in Alberta, have been canceled.

The Canadian women have sealed themselves off from the public to avoid further infections and to be able to board a plane to Beijing on January 26, says ice hockey director Gina Kingsbury.

“From now until then we’re basically in a bubble,” said Kingsbury. “ We as a group will take all possible precautions to stay safe and create the right environment, not only to be safe, but also to do our best and prepare. ”

The two women will represent Canada for the fourth time in their careers, having won Olympic gold in 2010 and 2014 and silver in 2018.


Emily Clark, Saskatoon (PWHPA)
Melody Daoust, Valleyfield, Que. (PWHPA)
Sarah Fillier, Georgetown, Ontario. (Princeton University)
Brianne Jenner, Oakville, Ontario. (PWHPA)
Rebecca Johnston, Sudbury, Ontario. (PWHPA)
Emma Maltais, Burlington, Ontario. (Ohio State)
Sarah Nurse, Hamilton (PWHPA)
Marie-Philip Poulin, Beauceville, Que. (PWHPA)
Jamie Lee Rattray, Kanata, Ontario. (PWHPA)
Jillian Saulnier, Halifax (PWHPA)
Natalie Spooner, Toronto (PWHPA)
Laura Stacey, Kleinberg, Ontario. (PWHPA)
Blayre Turnbull, Stellarton, NS (PWHPA)

Erin Ambrose, Keswick, Ontario. (PWHPA)
Ashton Bell, Deloraine, man. (University of Minnesota-Duluth)
Renata Fast, Burlington, Ontario. (PWHPA)
Jocelyne Larocque, Ste. Anne, man. (PWHPA)
Ella Shelton, Ingersoll, Ontario. (PWHPA)
Claire Thompson, Toronto (PWHPA)
Micah Zandee-Hart, Saanichton, BC

Kristin Campbell, Brandon, husband. (PWHPA)
Ann-Renee Desbiens, La Malbaie, Que. (PWHPA)
Emerance Maschmeyer, Bruderheim, Alta. (PWHPA)

Head coach: Troy Ryan, Spryfield, NS

Assistant trainer: Kori Cheverie, New Glasgow, NS; Doug Derreaugh, Arnprior, Ontario; Alison Domenico, Ottawa.


Comments are closed.