Students honored for hard work, good citizenship


Thirteen Morgan County youths were recognized Tuesday by the Rev. James Caldwell Chapter of Daughters of the American Revolution for their hard work and community service.

From their commitment to school activities to their work with volunteer organizations, students from 11 regional schools have been nominated for the DAR awards by their teachers and classmates.

Chapter Regent Pat Boldt said she was glad to honor the students for their hard work.

“The DAR Good Citizens program is a wonderful way to recognize outstanding young people who have the qualities of good citizenship and say, ‘Hey, you’re okay,'” said Boldt.

Because of the pandemic, the DAR was unable to present the awards last year, but they received them from the students. Boldt said she was glad they were able to hold the traditional ceremony this year.

“We have to honor our students for the good things they do in our community,” said Boldt.

Treasurer Sandy Heaton gave the students some advice before the ceremony – to dance.

“You have to dance … don’t let the size of the school you come from hold you back,” said Heaton. “Even if you grew up in a small town, you can do anything. Your parents have dreams for you, go out and experience the world.”

The award is given to seniors selected by members of their schools.

This year the Good Citizen Awards went to Elizabeth Soltermann from Jacksonville High School, Addie Dobson from Routt Catholic High School, Chloe Leonard from Franklin High School, Colton Bunch from Westfair Christian Academy, Peri Andras from Winchester High School, Kyle Roeschley of Waverly High School, Lance Bogner of Triopia High School, Hannah Flynn of Meredosia-Chambersburg High School, Denise Rivera of Illinois School for the Deaf, Joshua Bailey of Bluffs High School, and Anthony LT Douglas Spears of the Illinois School for the Visually Impaired.

It’s been a few years since the chapter presented its Youth Citizen Award, which is open to all youth in the community, not just high school seniors, Heaton said. Recipients can only receive the award once in their lifetime, Boldt said.

Tessa Runkle and Junior Kaylee Boldt sophomore of Jacksonville High School received the award.

Source link


Leave A Reply